Panama will host the VI International Congress of the Spanish Language in 2013

This was the grand agreement reached last July 11th at the meeting that took place at the Cervantes Institute among twenty senior officials of Spanish cultural institutions, presided over by the First Lady of Panama, Marta Linares de Martinelli, the director of the Cervantes Institute, Carmen Caffarel, and the director of the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation (AECID), Francisco Moza. 

The meeting was also attended by the Panama Minister of Culture, María Eugenia Herrera de Victoria, the AECID Director of Cultural and Scientific Relations, Carlos Alberdi, the Royal Spanish Academy Director, José Manuel Blecua and the Secretary General of the Association of Academies of the Spanish Language, Humberto López Morales, as well as officials from the Naval Museum, America Museum, National Library, American House and the General Archives of the West Indies.

The next Congress of the Spanish Language, co-organized by the Cervantes Institute, the Royal Spanish Academy, the Association of Academies and the host country, will coincide in 2013 with another important commemoration for the Panamanian republic: the 500th anniversary of the discovery of the Pacific Ocean by the Spaniard Vasco Núñez de Balboa. This event will be accompanied by the summit of Heads of State and Government of the Spanish-speaking community.

The International Congress of the Spanish Language (CILE), which take place every three years in countries of the Spanish-speaking community, serve as a universal forum for reflection on the situation, problems and challenges of the Spanish language. It seeks to stimulate the governments', institutions' and individuals' awareness of their shared responsibility to promote and unify the language, understood as the backbone of the Latin American community in all aspects, and in dialogue with other languages that share a living common heritage with it.  Former CILEs have been held in Zacatecas (Mexico) in 1997, Valladolid (Spain) in 2001, Rosario (Argentina) in 2004, Cartagena de Indias (Colombia) in 2007 and Valparaiso (Chile) in 2010, although the latter took place virtually due to an earthquake that happened on the eve of the meeting date.